Perl plugin: Enhance insert_perl.pl documentation
authorHolger Berndt <hb@claws-mail.org>
Sun, 7 Apr 2013 13:33:34 +0000 (15:33 +0200)
committerHolger Berndt <hb@claws-mail.org>
Sun, 7 Apr 2013 14:16:41 +0000 (16:16 +0200)
In cvs, there was an "InsertCompile" script that called the script.
Without looking at that script, the use of insert_perl.pl is not
obvious, so a few comments have been added.

src/plugins/perl/tools/insert_perl.pl

index 7d90f626c21640521b269bf9347f6e9434ec6b94..ba06c48b35d779683580f29f42f73468af757164 100644 (file)
@@ -1,6 +1,16 @@
 #!/usr/bin/perl -w
 # parameters: <cmd> what perl-code c-code
 #
+# The purpose of this script is to be able to develop the embedded perl
+# code outside of the c-code. This script then updates the c-code, escaping
+# the perl code as needed and putting it into the c code as strings.
+#
+# usage:
+#  - go to directory of perl plugin sources
+#    - tools/insert_perl.pl perl_filter_action perl_filter_action.pl perl_plugin.c
+#    - tools/insert_perl.pl perl_filter_matcher perl_filter_matcher.pl perl_plugin.c
+#    - tools/insert_perl.pl perl_persistent perl_persistent.pl perl_plugin.c
+#    - tools/insert_perl.pl perl_utils perl_utils.pl perl_plugin.c
 use strict;
 use File::Copy;