Fix a use after free crash when deleting message via a separate messageview
authorAndrej Kacian <ticho@claws-mail.org>
Tue, 14 May 2019 14:01:40 +0000 (16:01 +0200)
committerAndrej Kacian <ticho@claws-mail.org>
Tue, 14 May 2019 14:04:27 +0000 (16:04 +0200)
After the message has been deleted, summary_show() will
redisplay the folder and free all the MsgInfos, but we still
need the one for the message currently displayed in our
messageview window, so we add our own reference to it, and free
it ourselves when we're done.

This was only happening when summaryview already has a different
message displayed.

Fixes bug #4029: segfault after deleting message in a window

src/messageview.c

index 62d63ad..2f7a828 100644 (file)
@@ -1666,6 +1666,10 @@ void messageview_delete(MessageView *msgview)
 
                cm_return_if_fail(msginfo != NULL);
 
+               /* We will need to access the original message's msginfo
+                * later, so we add our own reference. */
+               procmsg_msginfo_new_ref(msginfo);
+
                /* to get the trash folder, we have to choose either
                 * the folder's or account's trash default - we prefer
                 * the one in the account prefs */
@@ -1689,6 +1693,8 @@ void messageview_delete(MessageView *msgview)
                        procmsg_msginfo_set_flags(msginfo, MSG_DELETED, 0);
                        /* NOTE: does not update to next message in summaryview */
                }
+
+               procmsg_msginfo_free(&msginfo);
        }
 #ifdef GENERIC_UMPC
        if (msgview->window && !prefs_common.always_show_msg) {